

MINUTES

YARRALIN LOCAL AUTHORITY MEETING
HELD ON TUESDAY 4 JUNE 2024
AT 12:30 PM
AT THE YARRALIN COUNCIL OFFICE
VDRC Office



VICTORIA DALY REGIONAL COUNCIL DISCLAIMER

No responsibility is implied or accepted by the Victoria Daly Regional Council for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or committee meetings.

The Victoria Daly Regional Council disclaims any liability for any loss whatsoever and howsoever caused arising out of reliance by any person or legal entity on any such act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or committee meetings.

Any person or legal entity who acts or fails to act in reliance upon any statement, act or omission made in a Council or committee meeting does so at that person's or legal entity's own risk.

In particular and without detracting in any way from the broad disclaimer above, in any discussion regarding any planning application or application for a licence, any statement or intimation of approval made by any member or officer of the Victoria Daly Regional Council during the Course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not taken as notice of approval from the Victoria Daly Regional Council.

The Victoria Daly Regional Council advises that anyone who has any application lodged with the Victoria Daly Regional Council shall obtain and should only rely on **WRITTEN CONFIRMATION** of the outcome of the application, and any conditions attaching to the decision made by the Victoria Daly Regional Council in respect of the application.

Brian Hylands

Chief Executive Officer



1. Meeting Opening

The meeting opened at 12:39pm.

2. Welcome

Chairperson welcomed members and visitors to the meeting.

3. Attendance and Apologies

3.1. Attendees

Appointed Members Present

Charlie Newry Member (via phone)

Mayor Brian Pedwell Mayor

Charlie James Member (via Teams)
Lucy Pedwell Member (via Teams)
Elwyn Anzac Member (A/Chairperson)

Wesley Campbell Member

Staff Present

Brian Hylands Chief Executive Officer
Colin Campbell Council Operations Manager

Kim Maskell Media and Communications Officer (minute

secretary via Teams)

Guests

Karen Hocking Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet Joanne Nicol Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet

Clare Pearce Parks and Wildlife NTG
Stacey Kessner Parks and Wildlife NTG
Anna Egerton NT Electoral Commission
Jessica Hagley Katherine West Health Board

3.2. Apologies and Absentees

Apologies: Sharatine Campbell

YLA-2024/10 Resolution: Carried (Mayor Brian Pedwell/Wesley Campbell)

Council have received and accept the apology of Sharatine Campbell.

4. Disclosure of Interest

There were no declarations of interest at this meeting.



5. Resignations, Terminations and Nominations

5.1. Resignations

YLA-2024/11 Resolution: Carried (Wesley Campbell/Charlie Newry)

That the resignation of Colin Campbell is noted.

5.2. Terminations

Nil

5.3. Nominations

Nil

6. Guests and Presentations

ITEM NUMBER 6.1.

Smoke-Free Area Signs

The Chairperson thanked Jessica Hagley.

ITEM NUMBER 6.2.

Crocodile Management

The Chairperson thanked Clare Pearce and Stacey Kessner.

ITEM NUMBER 6.3.

Local Authority Review

The Chairperson thanked Karen Hocking.

ITEM NUMBER 6.4.

2024 Territory Election

The Chairperson thanked Anna Egerton.



7. Confirmation of Minutes

ITEM NUMBER 7.1.

Yarralin Local Authority meeting held on 14 March 2024

YLA-2024/12 Resolution: Carried (Mayor Brian Pedwell/Wesley Campbell)

That the minutes of the Yarralin Local Authority meeting held on 14 March 2024 be taken as read and be accepted as a true record of the meeting.

8. Council Response to Previous Minutes

ITEM NUMBER 8.1.

Feedback from Council

Mayor Brian Pedwell left the meeting at 2:01 pm.

YLA-2024/13 Resolution: Carried (Wesley Campbell/Charlie Newry)

That the Feedback from Council be received and noted.

9. Correspondence

10. Reports

10.1. Council Operations Manager Community Report

ITEM NUMBER 10.1.1.

Council Operations Report - Yarralin

YLA-2024/14 Resolution: Carried (Lucy Pedwell/Wesley Campbell)

A. That the Council Operation Manager Report is delivered.

10.2. Finance Report

ITEM NUMBER 10.2.1.

Finance Report for the period ended 31 March 2024

YLA-2024/15 Resolution: Carried (Charlie James/Lucy Pedwell)

A. That the Finance Report for the period ended 31 March 2024 report is received and noted.



ITEM NUMBER 10.2.2. Projects Update as at 31 March 2024

Mayor Brian Pedwell returned to the meeting at 2:24 pm.

Action: Keira to write a letter to the minister regarding a basketball court in Lingara.

Karen Hocking will follow up with Territory Families regarding the petition for a laneway.

Elwyn Anzac left the meeting at 2:36 pm.

Elwyn Anzac returned to the meeting at 2:40 pm.

Action: Colin Campbell to get quotes for solar lights.

10.3. Actions Report ITEM NUMBER 10.3.1. Yarralin - Nitjpurru Action Items

YLA-2024/17 Resolution: Carried (Charlie Newry/Lucy Pedwell)

- A. That the Yarralin Nitjpurru Local Authority receive and note the action items update.
- B. That the completed action items be removed from the list.

Elwyn Anzac left the meeting at 2:58 pm.

YLA-2024/18 Resolution: Carried (Charlie James/Wesley Campbell)

A. That Council request the pest control program performed by Territory Housing continues and is conducted twice yearly.



10.4. General Reports

ITEM NUMBER 10.4.1.

Cemetery Signs

YLA-2024/19 Resolution: Carried (Mayor Brian Pedwell/Charlie James)

- A. That the Cemetery Signs report is received and noted
- B. That YNLA approve the designs of the signs for the old and new cemeteries; and
- C. That the YNLA approves the purchase of a grave cover.

ITEM NUMBER 10.4.2.

Yarralin Water Fountains

YLA-2024/20 Resolution: Carried (Wesley Campbell/Lucy Pedwell)

- A. That the Yarralin Water Fountains report is received and noted; and
- B. That the YNLA has decided on the box seat design.

Action: Colin to follow up on quotes for the box seat water fountain.

11. Questions from the Public

12. General Business

Nil

13. Confidential

Nil

14. Next Meeting

The next Meeting of Yarralin - Nitjpurru Local Authority will be held 14 August 2024.

The meeting closed at 3:17pm.

This page and the preceding 6 pages are the minutes of the meeting of Yarralin – Nitipurru Local Authority meeting held on 4 June 2024.