

MINUTES

YARRALIN LOCAL AUTHORITY MEETING
HELD ON WEDNESDAY 10 MAY 2023
AT 12:30 PM
AT THE YARRALIN COUNCIL OFFICE
VDRC Office



VICTORIA DALY REGIONAL COUNCIL DISCLAIMER

No responsibility is implied or accepted by the Victoria Daly Regional Council for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or committee meetings.

The Victoria Daly Regional Council disclaims any liability for any loss whatsoever and howsoever caused arising out of reliance by any person or legal entity on any such act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or committee meetings.

Any person or legal entity who acts or fails to act in reliance upon any statement, act or omission made in a Council or committee meeting does so at that person's or legal entity's own risk.

In particular and without detracting in any way from the broad disclaimer above, in any discussion regarding any planning application or application for a licence, any statement or intimation of approval made by any member or officer of the Victoria Daly Regional Council during the Course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not taken as notice of approval from the Victoria Daly Regional Council.

The Victoria Daly Regional Council advises that anyone who has any application lodged with the Victoria Daly Regional Council shall obtain and should only rely on **WRITTEN CONFIRMATION** of the outcome of the application, and any conditions attaching to the decision made by the Victoria Daly Regional Council in respect of the application.

Brian Hylands

Chief Executive Officer



1. Meeting Opening

The meeting opened at 12:51pm.

2. Welcome

Chairperson welcomed members and visitors to the meeting.

3. Attendance and Apologies

3.1. Attendees

MEMBERS

Chairperson Charlie Newry Vice Chair Charlie James

Member Mayor Brian Pedwell

STAFF

Chief Executive Officer Brian Hylands

Manager of Executive Services Michelle Griffin (minute taker)

GUESTS

The Dept. of the Chief Minister & Cabinet Hailey Dack and Karen Hocking (via Teams)

3.2. Apologies and Absentees

Apologies: Simon Campbell

Absent: Elwyn Anzac, Wesley Campbell

4. Disclosure of Interest

There were no declarations of interest at this meeting.

5. Resignations, Terminations and Nominations

5.1. Resignations

Nil

5.2. Terminations

Nil

5.3. Nominations

Nil



6. Presentations and Training

6.1. Local Authority Training - Understanding Conflicts of Interest

The Chairperson thanked Karen Hocking and Hailey Dack from the Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet for the presentation/training on 'understanding conflicts of interest'.

Mayor B. Pedwell thanked Charlie Newry (Chairperson) for his 10 year long service award, including certificate and engraved yeti.

7. Confirmation of Minutes

7.1. Yarralin Local Authority Meeting held on 16 February 2023

YLA-2023/9 Resolution: Carried (Charlie James/Mayor Brian Pedwell)

That the minutes of the Yarralin Local Authority Meeting held on 16 February 2023 be taken as read and be accepted as a true record of the meeting.

8. Council Response to Previous Minutes

8.1. Feedback from Council

YLA-2023/10 Resolution: Carried (Charlie James/Mayor Brian Pedwell)

That the Yarralin – Nitjpurru Local Authority receive and note the feedback from Council

9. Correspondence

9.1. Correspondence

Nil

10. Reports

10.1.1. Council Operations Manager Report

YLA-2023/11 Resolution: Carried (Charlie James/Mayor Brian Pedwell)

That the Council Operations Manager Report is received and noted

Charlie Newry left the meeting at 1:25 pm.

Charlie Newry returned to the meeting at 1:27 pm.



10.2.1. Yarralin - Nitjpurru Finance Report

YLA-2023/12 Resolution: Carried (Charlie James/Mayor Brian Pedwell)

That the Yarralin – Nitjpurru Local Authority receive and note the finance report.

10.2.2. Yarralin - Nitjpurru Projects Report

YLA-2023/13 Resolution: Carried (Charlie James/Mayor Brian Pedwell)

- A. That the Yarralin Nitipurru Projects Report report is received and noted
- B. That the Yarralin Nitjpurru Local Authority consider projects for investigation

10.3.1. Yarralin - Nitjpurru Action Items

YLA-2023/14 Resolution: Carried (Charlie James/Mayor Brian Pedwell)

That the Yarralin - Nitjpurru Local Authority receive and note the action items update.

10.4.1. Electing a Chairperson

This item will be considered at the next meeting.

11. Questions from the Public

Nil

12. General Business

Nil

13. Next Meeting

The next Meeting of Yarralin – Nitjpurru Local Authority will be held 9 August 2023.

The meeting was closed at 1:57pm.

This page and the preceding four pages are the minutes of the Yarralin - Nitjpurru Local Authority PROVISIONAL meeting held on 10 May 2023.