

MINUTES

YARRALIN LOCAL AUTHORITY MEETING
HELD ON WEDNESDAY 9 AUGUST 2023
AT 10:00 AM
AT THE YARRALIN COUNCIL OFFICE
VDRC Office



VICTORIA DALY REGIONAL COUNCIL DISCLAIMER

No responsibility is implied or accepted by the Victoria Daly Regional Council for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or committee meetings.

The Victoria Daly Regional Council disclaims any liability for any loss whatsoever and howsoever caused arising out of reliance by any person or legal entity on any such act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or committee meetings.

Any person or legal entity who acts or fails to act in reliance upon any statement, act or omission made in a Council or committee meeting does so at that person's or legal entity's own risk.

In particular and without detracting in any way from the broad disclaimer above, in any discussion regarding any planning application or application for a licence, any statement or intimation of approval made by any member or officer of the Victoria Daly Regional Council during the Course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not taken as notice of approval from the Victoria Daly Regional Council.

The Victoria Daly Regional Council advises that anyone who has any application lodged with the Victoria Daly Regional Council shall obtain and should only rely on **WRITTEN CONFIRMATION** of the outcome of the application, and any conditions attaching to the decision made by the Victoria Daly Regional Council in respect of the application.

Brian Hylands

Chief Executive Officer



1. Meeting Opening

The meeting opened at 10:34am

2. Welcome

Chairperson welcomed members and visitors to the meeting.

3. Attendance and Apologies

3.1. Members

Members

Chairperson Charlie Newry
Vice Chair Charlie James
Member Wesley Campbell
Member Mayor Brian Pedwell

Staff

Chief Executive Officer Brian Hylands
Council Operations Assistant Manager Noeleen Campbell
Manager of Executive Services Michelle Griffin
Executive Services Officer Chellah Clancy (Minute Taker)

Guests

The Department of the Chief Minister and Tristan Stonhill, Kallum Peckham-McKenzie, Cabinet Karen Hocking

3.2. Apologies and Absentees

Absent: Elwyn Anzac, Simon Campbell

4. Disclosure of Interest

There were no declarations of interest at this meeting.

5. Resignations, Terminations and Nominations

5.1. Resignations

Nil

5.2. Terminations

Nil

5.3. Nominations



YLA-2023/15 Resolution: Carried (Charlie James/Mayor Brian Pedwell)

That the Yarralin Local Authority accept the nomination of Colin Campbell and request that Council endorse the nomination.

YLA-2023/16 Resolution: Carried (Wesley Campbell/Charlie James)

That the Yarralin Local Authority accept the nomination of Lucy Pedwell and request that Council endorse the nomination

YLA-2023/17 Resolution: Carried (Charlie Newry/Mayor Brian Pedwell)

That the Yarralin Local Authority accept the nomination of Sharatine Campbell and request that Council endorse the nomination

6. Guests and Presentations

6.1. Australian Electoral Commission

Maryanne Walley from AEC joined the meeting at 11am to do her presentation on the Indigenous Participation Program.

6.2. Code of Conduct Presentation - CM&C

Karen Hocking from the Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet provided a presentation on "Introduction to the Code of Conduct Training".

7. Confirmation of Minutes

7.1. Yarralin Local Authority Provisional Meeting held on 10 May 2023

YLA-2023/18 Resolution: Carried (Mayor Brian Pedwell/Charlie James)

- A. That the minutes of the Yarralin Local Authority Provisional Meeting held on 10 May 2023 be taken as read and be accepted as a true record of the meeting; and
- B. That all provisional resolutions be adopted as resolutions of the Yarralin Nitjpurru Local Authority.

8. Council Response to Previous Minutes

8.1. Feedback from Council

YLA-2023/19 Resolution: Carried (Charlie Newry/Charlie James)

A. That the Yarralin – Nitjpurru Local Authority receive and note the feedback from Council.

9. Reports

9.1. Finance Report

9.1.1. Yarralin - Nitjpurru Finance Report for the period ended 30th June 2023

YLA-2023/20 Resolution: Carried (Charlie James/Wesley Campbell)

That the Yarralin – Nitjpurru Local Authority receive and note the finance report.

9.1.2. Yarralin - Nitjpurru Projects Report updates as of 30th June 2023



YLA-2023/21 Resolution: Carried (Mayor Brian Pedwell/Charlie Newry)

- A. That the Yarralin Nitjpurru Projects Report updates as of 30th June 2023 report is received and noted
- B. That the Yarralin Nitjpurru Local Authority consider projects for investigation

Charlie Newry left the meeting at 11:35 am.

Charlie Newry returned to the meeting at 11:37 am.

YLA-2023/22 Resolution: Carried (Wesley Campbell/Charlie Newry)

- A. The YPHLA prefer the Colourful 'Welcome to Yarralin' sign incorporating Walangeri and Victoria Daly Regional Council.
- B. YPHLA agree to allocate money from beautification funding towards the sign.

9.2. Actions Report

9.2.1. Yarralin - Nitjpurru Action Items

Mayor Brian Pedwell left the meeting at 12:01 pm. Mayor Brian Pedwell returned to the meeting at 12:02 pm.

YLA-2023/23 Resolution: Carried (Mayor Brian Pedwell/Wesley Campbell)

A. That the YPHLA fully support a name change for Pigeon Hole to Nitjpurru and that the YPHLA seek Councils support on the name change.

YLA-2023/24 Resolution: Carried (Mayor Brian Pedwell/Wesley Campbell)

A. That the Yarralin - Nitjpurru Local Authority receive and note the action items update.

10. Questions from the Public

11. General Business

YLA-2023/26 Resolution: Carried (Charlie Newry/Mayor Brian Pedwell)

That the Remote School Attendance Strategy Report was tabled.

12. Next Meeting

The next Meeting of Yarralin / Nitjpurru Local Authority will be held on Wednesday, 15 November 2023

The meeting closed at 12:09pm

This page and the preceding five pages are the minutes of the Yarralin - Nitjpurru Local Authority meeting held on 09 August 2023.

